Responsive image
Sinhala site
Sinhala site

POSTED AT 10:53 AM 28-02-2019

Moors SC beat NCC to emerge champs in last ball thriller

SLC Major T20 Cricket final

Major T20 champions Moors SC

Moors SC emerged champions of the SLC Major T20 inter-club cricket tournament when they beat NCC by one wicket off the last ball of the match in the final played at the P. Sara Oval yesterday.

Moors SC who won the toss and elected to field first saw NCC score 173-7 in 20 overs with opener Pathum Nissanka making a top score of 52 off 38 balls inclusive of 6 fours and sharing a fourth wicket stand of 55 with skipper Mahela Udawatte (31).

Chaturanga de Silva (20), Dinesh Chandimal (20) and Lahiru Udara (19) also contributed towards what was a defendable total. Adeesha Thilanchana was Moors’ main wicket-taker with 3 wickets for 30 runs.

Moors SC in their run chase were comfortably placed to win at 156-6 at the end of the 18th over and required 18 off the last two overs.

But NCC hit back in the penultimate over to capture two wickets off successive balls to leave Moors needing 16 off the final over with two wickets in hand.

Shiran Fernando took two runs off the first ball bowled by leg-spinner Saranga Rajaguru and hammered the next two for sixes to cut the deficit to two runs off the final three balls. Moors lost Ayana Siriwardhana run out without facing a ball to the fourth ball. Last man Chanuk Dilshan took a single off the first ball to tie the scores and off the final delivery of the match Fernando sneaked in a single to signal a thrilling victory for Moors.

Earlier Moors’ batting was held together by middle order batsman Nimanda Madushanka who scored 47 off 23 balls with 2 fours and 4 sixes, Ramesh Mendis (37) and Adeesha Thilanchana (26). Mendis and Madhusanka shared a 60-run partnership for the sixth wicket.


NCC: 173/7 in 20 overs (Pathum Nissanka 52, Mahela Udawatte 31, Chaturanga de Silva 20, Dinesh Chandimal 20, Adeesha Thilanchana 3/30)

Moors SC: 174/9 in 20 overs (Nimanda Madushanka 47, Ramesh Mendis 32 n.o., Adeesha Thilanchana 26, Anuk Fernando 16 n.o., Irosh Samarasooriya 12, Dilesh Gunaratne 3/18, Chaturanga de Silva 2/20) – YK