Responsive image
Sinhala site
Sinhala site

POSTED AT 09:50 AM 22-02-2019

Parakrama to be new Deputy Chairman/MD at Aitken Spence

Incumbent longstanding Rajan Brito to retire after 17-year stint but will serve on Board

Image Courtesy: Para

Top professional Dr. Parakrama Dissanayake has been appointed as the Deputy Chairman and Managing Director of Aitken Spence PLC with effect from 15 March.

This is following the retirement of longstanding Rajan Brito from the post next month after 17-year stint. However, he will continue to serve on Aitken Spence Board as a Non-Executive Director.

Brito joined the Board in April 2000 and was appointed Deputy Chairman and Managing Director in January 2002. Dissanayake will step down as Secretary Ministry of Ports and Shipping and Southern Development on 14 March. 

Prior to taking up as the Chairman of Sri Lanka Ports Authority in 2015, Dissanayake was Chairman/CEO of Aitken Spence Maritime and Logistics and was appointed to the parent’s Board in September 2009.

With a multidiscipline academic background, Brito has a wealth of experience from a career counting over 40 years that includes experience working with several international organisations. Brito is an acclaimed senior professional in both the private and the public sector industries in Sri Lanka. 

He is a former chairman of DFCC Bank, Employers’ Federation of Ceylon, Sri Lankan Airlines, and has also served on the Board of the Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation. He holds a LLB degree from the University of London, MBA degree from London City Business School and is a Fellow of the Institutes of Chartered Accountants of both Sri Lanka and England and Wales.