Responsive image
Sinhala site
Sinhala site

POSTED AT 04:17 PM 30-01-2019

Sri Lanka ‘A’ batter Irish for 403 and complete 5-0 ODI whitewash

The victorious Sri Lanka ‘A’ side that beat Ireland ‘A’ 5-0 in the five-match unofficial ODI series at the R Premadasa Stadium yesterday.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ once again came up with a sterling batting performance to outplay Ireland ‘A’ by 101 runs to win the fifth and final unofficial ODI and make a clean sweep of the five-match series 5-0 at the R Premadasa Stadium yesterday.

Winning the toss and batting first Sri Lanka ‘A’ rattled up an imposing total of 403-7 off 50 overs riding on the back of a double century opening partnership of 206 between Avishka Fernando and skipper Upul Tharanga who both made centuries.

Ireland ‘A’ put up a strong batting performance but were dismissed for 302 off the last ball of the final over.

For 20-year-old former St Sebastian’s College right-hander Fernando it has been a dream run with the bat scoring his third hundred of the ODI series. He made 128 in the first unofficial ODI at Hambantota and followed it up with back to back hundreds in the fourth ODI (139 at SSC) and 112 off 94 balls (13 fours, 2 sixes) in the fifth yesterday.

Experienced opener Tharanga scored his second hundred of the series with a stylish 120 off 108 balls comprising 15 fours and a six.

Buoyed by the start the Lankan batsmen went on a run spree with contributions down the order taking the Irish bowlers comprising eight apart with Chaturanga de Silva smashing five sixes in a quickfire half century off 23 balls.


Ireland ‘A’ got off to a flying start with their openers posting 52 off 46 balls and at one time were well placed at 233-4 in the 42nd over.

But their batting was eventually dismantled by Sri Lanka all-rounder Asela Gunaratne who snapped up four wickets for 51 runs with his probing right-arm medium-paced deliveries trapping last man Peter Chase lbw off the final ball of the match.

Scores: Sri Lanka ‘A’ 403-7 in 50 overs (Avishka Fernando 112, Upul Tharanga 120, Asela Gunaratne 25, Dasun Shanaka 39, Chaturanga de Silva 50, Isuru Udana 22, Peter Chase 2/57, Gareth Delany 3/58)

Ireland ‘A’ 302 in 50 overs (Stuart Thompson 30, James McCollum 43, Simi Singh 41, Lorcan Tucker 53, Harry Tector 27, Neil Rock 78, Kamindu Mendis 2/82, Dasun Shanaka 2/41, Asela Gunaratne 4/51)