Responsive image
Sinhala site
Sinhala site

POSTED AT 09:31 AM 12-04-2019

Thirimanne stakes late WC claim with century

Rain ruins Super Four Provincial limited-over final:

The two captains Dinesh Chandimal (Colombo) and Lasith Malinga (Galle) share the Champions trophy at the end of the Super Four Provincial limited-over final at Rangiri Dambulla Stadium yesterday.

Sri Lanka’s experienced batters Lahiru Thirimanne made a late attempt to catch the selectors’ eyes with a well composed century for Galle which enabled them to knock up an impressive score of 337-7 in 50 overs in the Super Four Provincial limited-over final against Colombo at Rangiri Dambulla Stadium yesterday.

With an exciting run chase on the cards the heavens opened up and Colombo never had a chance of commencing their run chase and the final eventually ended in a no-result with Galle and Colombo sharing the Champions trophy.

Thirimanne opening the batting enabled Galle to recover from the setback of losing Sandun Weerakkody for a fourth ball duck in the first over to post their competitive total after winning the toss and batting.

Thirimanne struck nine fours and one six in his innings of 115 off 128 balls. With Wanindu Hasaranga who scored an attractive 87 off 53 balls with 13 fours and a six, Thirimanne added 144 for the fifth wicket.

Thirimanne was dismissed in the 46th over with the score on 296 but Minod Bhanuka and Lahiru Madushanka ensured Galle crossed the 300-run mark with cameo knocks of 21 and 24 not out respectively.

Dhananjaya de Silva was adjudged the Player of the Tournament, and Angelo Mathews and Lasith Malinga as the Best Batsman and Best Bowler of the Tournament respectively.

The eight-match Super Four Provincial limited-over tournament was organized by Sri Lanka Cricket to provide a guideline to the national selectors to pick the Sri Lanka squad of 15 for the World Cup. The selection will be done after the New Year holidays.